On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 101.9 FM Central Wisconsin


Current Conditions(Wausau,WI 54403)

More Weather »
58° Feels Like: 58°
Wind: WNW 14 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0.01”
Current Radar for Zip


Clear 41°


Mostly Sunny 67°

Mon Night

Clear 45°


Disaster declaration given to 24 Wisconsin counties for crop damage


MADISON, Wis. (WSAU) --  Wisconsin has 24 counties that have been designated as natural disaster areas. 

U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsak granted Governor Scott Walker’s request from last week to declare a natural disaster in many counties. Overall, 24 of the state’s 72 counties are now eligible for assistance due to the extended winter weather, and the multiple freezes and thaws that wiped out between thirty and seventy percent of some crops.

That declaration makes resources available to farmers from the USDA, the University of Wisconsin Extension, and other agencies.

We eligible counties are: Brown, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Dodge, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pierce, Shawano, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Waupaca, and Washington.

There are drought resources also available through Ready Wisconsin.  

Farmers in need of feed for their livestock or with feed to sell to farmers in need are encouraged to use the Farmer to Farmer program provided by UW Extension. More information is available from the USDA .