MADISON, WI (WTAQ) - Wisconsin teenagers talking on their cell phones while driving could be fined starting next month.
The state law prohibiting inattentive driving expands November 1st to include drivers holding probationary licenses or instructional permits.
Texting while driving is illegal in Wisconsin for all drivers.
A driver could be fined $20 to $40 for a first offense and $50 to $100 for any those offenses within a year of the first one.
A report from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration showed 11 percent of all drivers under the age of 20 involved in fatal crash were distracted at the time.